This Magnificent Dappled Sea by David Biro

This Magnificent Dappled Sea by David BiroTwo strangers—generations and oceans apart—have a chance to save each other in this moving and suspenseful novel about family secrets and the ineffable connections that lead us to one another.

In a small Northern Italian village, nine-year-old Luca Taviano catches a stubborn cold and is subsequently diagnosed with leukemia. His only hope for survival is a bone marrow transplant. After an exhaustive search, a match turns up three thousand miles away in the form of a most unlikely donor: Joseph Neiman, a rabbi in Brooklyn, New York, who is suffering from a debilitating crisis of faith. As Luca’s young nurse, Nina Vocelli, risks her career and races against time to help save the spirited redheaded boy, she uncovers terrible secrets from World War II—secrets that reveal how a Catholic child could have Jewish genes.

Can inheritance be transcended by accidents of love? That is the question at the heart of This Magnificent Dappled Sea, a novel that challenges the idea of identity and celebrates the ties that bind us together.

0

Categories: nazarene

Rise Unstoppable by Michelle G. Stradford

Rise Unstoppable by Michelle G. StradfordEnter to win a signed copy of Rise Unstoppable, Michelle Stradford's highly anticipated empowering poetry and affirmations book.

"I loved this book even more than the last. I felt empowered after I read “I’m Rising” but this book made me feel worthy. There was so much that I could relate to...I had so many favorite passages that most of the book was highlighted by the time I finished."--Amazon Reviewer

Restore yourself to your original wonder with soul-awakening self-love poetry and prose.

• Rise Unstoppable is an uplifting self-love poetry collection that amplifies the beauty and intrinsic power of women and girls.
• From self-care affirmations to the celebration of accomplishment, this book takes you on the path of self-awareness, acknowledgment of one's needs and, stepping into your courage to transform into an unstoppable force.
• Among the themes are self-created barriers, personal trauma, unhealthy relationships, workplace challenges, and the social and racial injustices that many of us face.
• Rise Unstoppable is organized in the following chapters: Self-Care, Transform, Amplify, Rise, and Unstoppable. Each section offers comfort, encouragement, and perspective on life experiences.

0

Categories: graffiti

Canary and the Mothman by Emory Moon

Canary and the Mothman by Emory MoonFOwlbird publishing is giving away 100 FREE Kindle editions of Canary and the Mothman, the debut release from author Emory Moon. Enter for your chance to win one.

This book is dedicated to all of you that are currently surviving that deafening family SILENCE.

Find out what happens when someone finally speaks up.

5

Categories: young-adult-contemporary

The Forever Girl by Jill Shalvis

The Forever Girl by Jill ShalvisEnter for a chance to win 1 of 100 galleys of Jill Shalvis' next heartwarming, feel-good novel of family, forgiveness, and secrets...

**Please no PO Boxes**

When Maze returns to Wildstone for the wedding of her estranged bff and the sister of her heart, it’s also a reunion of a once ragtag team of teenagers who had only each other until a tragedy tore them apart and scattered them wide.

Now as adults together again in the lake house, there are secrets and resentments mixed up in all the amazing childhood memories. Unexpectedly, they instantly fall back into their roles: Maze their reckless leader, Cat the den mother, Heather the beloved baby sister, and Walker, a man of mystery.

Life has changed all four of them in immeasurable ways. Maze and Cat must decide if they can rebuild their friendship, and Maze discovers her long-held attraction to Walker hasn’t faded with the years but has only grown stronger.

7

Categories: russia

Jammie Claus by Megan R. Holmes

Jammie Claus by Megan R. HolmesEnter to win a print copy of Jammie Claus: The Christmas Tradition of Unconditional Giving.

This is a children's Christmas book about the woman that everyone knows but knows nothing about–Mrs. Claus. Mrs. Claus spreads unconditional love by delivering pajamas on Christmas Eve. There are key messages of female empowerment, unconditional love, and spreading kindness. Written from a feminist lens, the author’s goal was to elevate Mrs. Claus, give voice to her purpose and role during Christmas, and bring to light a woman leader who spreads unconditional kindness and love throughout the world.

The Jammie Claus Book comes in a keepsake box with a Jammie Claus Bag (Jammie Claus Book and Bag Set) and contains everything you need to invite Jammie Claus into your home on Christmas Eve and start a new family tradition.

Back Cover: While history is often incomplete, Mrs. Claus is not at the margin as most may have guessed. The true story is that many years ago before Santa was known, it was Jammie Claus who began the Christmas tradition of unconditional giving. Each Christmas Eve, she climbs into her magical gingerbread sleigh and spreads peace, love, and joy as she delivers Christmas pajamas to all. You will know the pajamas are from her when you find your Jammie Claus Bag filled and tied with a bow!

1

Categories: hqn

Before You Go by Tommy Butler

Before You Go by Tommy ButlerA SIGNED copy of this “dazzling debut” (Publishers Weekly). The moving story of one man’s quest for happiness is interwoven with speculative tales of the Before and After, resulting in a profound yet playful literary journey into the ache and wonder of being human.

“Alluring. Magical. And painfully real. Will make your heart ache in all the right ways.” —Matthew Quick, New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook

“What a read! The magical elements and harsh reality were so well balanced. Perfect for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro or Aimee Bender.” —Books Inc. Staff Pick

“One of the most satisfying novels of the year.” —The Anniston Star

“This thought-provoking, quick, soulful read is like having a philosophical heart-to-heart.” —Good Morning America

“This book blew me away . . . Butler has this incredible way of writing that pulls you in to even the most mundane-seeming experience, and makes you realize it’s actually quite profound.” —Reader Haven

“Reader, prepare yourself to think outside the box!” —Off The Beaten Path, Singular September Staff Picks

“Inventive and profound.” —Largeheartedboy.com

8

Categories: category-romance

Loss Lake by Amber Cowie

Loss Lake by Amber CowieA new town, a new life, and a new home—with an absolutely chilling lakefront view.

Two months a widow, Mallory Dent has made the impulsive decision to pack up and move on. In remote McNamara, nestled in the northern mountains, she can escape her grief, guilt, and pain. But the day Mallory arrives, death follows her, lapping just outside her door. A woman’s body is found floating in Loss Lake—and it’s not the first death on these shores. Locals talk about a monster in the depths with an almost disturbing reverence.

Sergeant Joel Benson understands Mallory’s unease. Years ago, his own brother was killed in the home Mallory now owns. But that was just a tragic accident. Wasn’t it? The more Mallory investigates, the more fearful she becomes. Maybe there are monsters in McNamara. Maybe some have followed her there.

As a winter storm bears down, the refuge Mallory sought has become a trap. It’s time to face her past, the secrets behind the town’s friendly faces, and a reckoning that will shatter the eerie, icy calm of Loss Lake.

4

Categories: sociology

In the Deep by Loreth Anne White

In the Deep by Loreth Anne WhiteI hope you don’t find him. And if you do, I hope he’s dead and that he suffered…

Real-estate mogul Martin Cresswell-Smith is the best thing that has ever happened to Ellie. After her daughter’s devastating death, a divorce, and an emotional breakdown, he’s helped her move as far as possible from the grief, the rage, and the monsters of her past. Ellie imagines her new home with Martin in an Australian coastal town will be like living a fairy tale. But behind closed doors is another story—one that ends in Martin’s brutal murder. And Ellie seems almost relieved…

Naturally, everyone thinks Mrs. Cresswell-Smith is guilty.

Senior Constable Lozza Bianchi has reasonable doubt. She sees evidence of a twisted psychological battle and a couple who seemed to bring out the worst in each other—adultery, abuse, betrayal, and revenge. If anything Ellie says can be believed, that is. As the case takes twist after spiraling twist, Lozza can’t shake the gut instinct that she’s being manipulated. That Ellie is hiding something. That there are secrets yet to surface. Lozza has no idea.

7

Categories: hqn